My own NaNoWriMo

National Novel Writing Month is a huge event that takes place in November where the goal is to write around 1,600 words each and every day for the entire month.

nanowrimo

Also known as Writer Freakout Month

nanowrimo.org

I tried it this year, got pumped up, got a special forearm massager so I could keep typing so I had no excuses.  I dug out an old story idea and poured on 10,000 extra words in the first week so my overall word total was right on schedule.  I had to keep telling myself it was National Novel WRITING Month, not National Novel Editing Month, but my writing engine was going full bore, unrestrained into week two.  That’s when November kneecapped me.

The second week was nothing but a constant fear that my wife had appendicitis.  She was in a great amount of pain and discomfort, but because she wasn’t exploding (a common condition of a burst appendix) and wasn’t giving birth to a xenomorph in the middle of the dinner table, we didn’t go to the emergency room.  She did get some heavy duty anti-biotics and felt okay, but it was hard to do my normal work when she was at home much less when I was stressing about a surprise operation (or xenomorph) so creative writing was put on the back burner.  Week three was a great time to catch up, just do some more writing, once I get in the groove the word count just racks up, so no problem, week three here we come.

Week three I had jury duty.

Week three I had Federal jury duty.

Week three I had Federal jury duty for a criminal case involving the sale of cocaine that might have sent someone to jail for a long time.  It was my duty as a citizen to hear out the case, but it didn’t make it any easier.  I was just drained at the end of the week.  Then Thanksgiving happened and the month was over.  I had no more days left and NaNoWriMo had claimed my dignity once again.

This time will be different because I’m taking on NaNoWriMo on my own terms in my own months, and this time it’s going down.  Starting on the 1st of February I’m going to write anywhere between 1,600 to 2,000 words on my story, Wardens Watch, and come out with a story at the end, or at least 50,000 more words.  At the least it should be fun to watch from the sidelines so stay tuned to see me succeed or lose my sanity.

Standard

Leave a Reply

